Joseph Brentner. A Catalogue of His Works (Brk)
Johann Joseph Ignaz Brentner
Brk Coll. 7

[Music for the novena to St Teresa]

The collection of nine litanies and nine antiphons for the novena to St Teresa of Ávila in its original form is preserved in an anonymous incomplete source from Győr only. The authorship by Brentner is evidenced by numerous concordances with other sources containing single compositions surviving independently, some of them also with new texts (see Brk 44, Brk 45 and Brk Coll. 8), as well as by a mention in the chronicle of the Carmelite nuns in Graz.

P. Carolus Josephus à Sigismundo OCD commissioned Brentner in Prague to compose music for the festivity introduced by the Discalced Carmelite nuns of Graz in 1718. In Prague, the Discalced Carmelite nuns introduced the festive worship in 1721 (see Document), perhaps also with the music by Brentner. However, the Prague composer Antonín Reichenauer set some of the respective texts to music too.


Composition: 1718



Last changed: 2021-01-26
Download source MEI xml file