Joseph Brentner. A Catalogue of His Works (Brk)
Johann Joseph Ignaz Brentner
Brk 41

Regnum mundi

The work was created as an antiphon for the festive novena to St. Teresa of Ávila. P. Carolus Josephus à Sigismundo OCD commissioned Brentner in Prague to compose music for the feast introduced by the Discalced Carmelite nuns of Graz in 1718. The composition survived in several sources as motet “de Beata Virgine Maria” or “de Virginibus”. The Prague source is wrongly attributed to Antonín Reichenauer, who set a similar text to music too.

C, A, T, B ; 2 vl, org (= bc)
Contained in: [Music for the novena to St. Teresa] Brk Coll 07

Composition: 1718

Edition: Offertoria solenniora (Academus Edition 6)



Prague transcript of "Regnum mundi" ascribed to Reichenauer
[Classification: notated music, manuscript, copy, parts, complete]
Text on the cover: Offertorium | De Virginibus | Regnum mundi | à | Canto, Alto, Tenore, Basso | 2 Violins [later inscription: 2 Trombonis] | et organo. | Del Sig. Reichenauer | [designation of the owner Jan František Novák]. On the original title page on the inside of the cover, there is the later inscription: Reichenauer. 
9 parts
The parts are marked Canto, Alto, Tenoe, Basso, Violino 1mo, Violino 2do, and Organo. The Violine part is written in a different hand, and the Alto Trombone and Tenore Trombone parts were written later in a different hand on a different paper.
Academus Edition: Source J
CZ-Pak (Archiv Pražského hradu, Hudební sbírka svatovítské katedrály, Prague) 1062 RISM record
Transcript of "Regnum mundi" from Göttweig
[Classification: notated music, manuscript, copy, parts, fair copy, complete]
Text on the title page: Mottetta | de | B: V: M: | [pencil inscription on the right side: Ut potis de | SS. Viduis Cant: | Alto [on the right: Conc | Tenore | Basso | Violin 2. | Con Organo. | Authore Sigre  Josepho Prentner. | NR | 1. Old call marks 5 on the right and 16 at the bottom left.
7 parts (each on one folio), cover (bifolio); 34 × 21 cm
The parts are marked Canto Conc., Alto Conc., Tenore Conc., Basso Conc., Violino Primo, Violino Secondo and Organo. On the back of the cover in the middle, there is crossed-out inscription: B. Penedius | und B. Maurus | und B: Aprosius | B: Männes | n.n. n.n. Performance dates are written on the back of the cover: 27. Augusti 784. | 8. 8bris. 785.17. 8bri 753. 22 Julij Sub Sacro mat. 754.
Academus Edition: Source K
A-GÖ (Benediktinerstift Göttweig, Göttweig) 1030
Lost copy owned by P. Ignatius Müllner, SJ
[Classification: Inventory record]
Listed in the inventory of P. Ignatius Müllner on page 18 (Mottetta De Virginibus, Mart. Viduis): 8. Regnum mundi â 4. Voc. 2. VV. 2. Trombon. | 4 Rip. con Organo, Violone. Idem [= Brentner].


Last changed: 2021-01-25
Download source MEI xml file