Joseph Brentner. A Catalogue of His Works (Brk)
Johann Joseph Ignaz Brentner
Brk 31

Gaudens gaudebo

The work was created as an antiphon for the festive novena to St. Teresa of Ávila. P. Carolus Josephus à Sigismundo OCD commissioned Brentner in Prague to compose music for the feast introduced by the Discalced Carmelite nuns of Graz in 1718. Several sources of the composition are known. In an arrangement made by a local musician, the piece survived anonymously in Bolivia's Jesuit missions.

C, A, T, B ; 2 vl, org (= bc)
Contained in: [Music for the novena to St. Teresa] Brk Coll 07

Composition: 1718

Edition: Offertoria solenniora (Academus Edition 6)



Parts, copy of "Gaudens gaudebo" and "Vulnerasti cor meum"
[Classification: notated music, manuscript, complete]
8 parts; 34 × 21,5 cm
The source contains two compositions, Brk 32 and Brk 44. The parts bear the designations Canto, Alto, Tenore, Basso, Violino Primo, Violino 2do, and Organo (2 copies); the second Org part is written in a different hand. Both compositions are supplied with two texts: Vulnerasti cor meum / En parata est mensa and Gaudens gaudebo / Adoro te  devote.
Academus Edition: Source B
CZ-Pak (Archiv Pražského hradu, Hudební sbírka svatovítské katedrály, Prague) 1584 RISM record item RISM record collection
Transcript of "Gaudens gaudebo" by P. Maurus Brunnmayr
[Classification: notated music, manuscript, copy, parts, complete]
Title text on the cover: Gaudens gaudebo. | de virgine vel vidua | a | Canto Alto | Tenore Basso | Violinis 2bus | Con | Organo | Authore Prentner |  Descripsit P. Maurus | P. Gott. die 24. Feb. | 1745. Old call marks 10 in the middle on the right and 7 at the bottom left.
7 parts (each on one folio), cover (bifolio); 31 × 21 cm
The parts are marked Canto, Alto, Tenore, Basso, Violino 1mo, Violino 2do, and Organo. They werewritten on the back of older parts from two different unidentified compositions. Performance dates on the back of the cover: 21. Maji 784 | 19. Nov. 784 | 17. Martii 785. | 7. 8bris 785.
Academus Edition: Source E
A-GÖ (Benediktinerstift Göttweig, Göttweig) 1027
Parts, transcript of "Gaudens gaudebo"
[Classification: notated music, manuscript, copy, complete]
The middle part of the composition was substantially transformed into a solo aria. A modern edition was based on see below.
Academus Edition: Source F
Lost copy from Rajhrad
[Classification: Inventory record]
Not after 1725
Listed in the 1725 music inventory from the Benedictine monastery in Rajhrad (O ffertoria de Sanctis): " De iisdem [= Virginibus] Gaudens gaudebo  Brentner " .  The source is presumably lost.


Last changed: 2021-01-25
Download source MEI xml file